3 Saturday LSDs

This post was started two weeks ago and I just never got around to sharing it. Things just kept coming up and some big decisions were made that became my first priority. Hopefully things will settle now and I can work back towards a regular schedule.

Finding time to hit my mid week runs has been a little tough lately. Really tough lately. My job gets pretty insane every six weeks or so and getting out during lunch for a run is nearly impossible. Morning runs were out of the question since it is not appropriate to leave a six year old home alone for an hour. So I do the best I can with what I have and just try to keep my head above water.

But I do try to keep up on my long runs. On Saturday (two weeks ago), Ruth and I tackled 15 beautiful miles in Shaftsbury.

image

This is one of my favorite places to run. Mostly dirt road with some challenging hills. We didn’t get started until almost 9 and the day heated up quickly. The plan called for some speedwork in the middle of the run but due to the heat and the challenging nature of the route, we just did an LSD run which gave us some time to catch up.

The following Monday morning, for the first time in a long time, I was able to get out for a quick morning run. Getting up at 5 proved futile but after some gentle prodding by my always supportive boyfriend, I managed to be out the door by 5:30. I only did 3 miles slowly to work out some aches and pains leftover from the run on  Saturday and then not recovering appropriately Saturday night.

And that was pretty much it for runs that week. The following weekend was another 15 mile run with this pretty lady.

image

My knee seized up towards the end and all I wanted to do was finish. The runs seem so much harder this training cycle. It’s definitely different than training over the winter.

This weekend we all went camping on Lake Bomoseen here in VT and Ruth and I had a beautiful 10 miler on the rail trail that runs through campus. It was all dirt packed trail and completely flat. Good on our old joints. The weather was close to perfect and we were able to enjoy ourselves.

Hopefully I’ll be better at updating now that things are settling down!

One thought on “3 Saturday LSDs

Leave a Reply

